## IMPLEMENTATION COMMITTEE CONVENTION ON ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT ASSESSMENT IN A TRANSBOUNDARY CONTEXT

## PROTOCOL ON STRATEGIC ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT

Mr. Romas Svedas Telephone: +370 677 42699 E-mail: romas.svedas@tspmi.vu.lt Institute of International Relations and Political Science Vilnius University Vokieciu str. 10, LT-01130 Vilnius, Lithuania

Secretariat: Ms. Elena Santer, UNECE Telephone: +41 (0)22 917 2090 E-mail: eia.conv@un.org, elena.santer@un.org Palais des Nations CH-1211 Geneva 10 Switzerland

Ref. Fifth Review of Implementation of the Convention

17 April 2019

Dear Mr. Tarasenko,

I am writing to you on behalf of the Implementation Committee under the Convention on Environmental Impact Assessment in a Transboundary Context (Espoo, 1991) and its Protocol on Strategic Environmental Assessment (Kyiv, 2003).

At its forty-forth session, held in Geneva from 12 to 15 March 2019, the Committee considered the general and specific compliance issues identified in the Fifth Review of Implementation of the Convention (ECE/MP.EIA/2017/9), based on questionnaires returned by Parties.

The Committee noted that in the response to the questionnaire (question I.22), Ukraine reported not having relevant provisions in its national environmental impact assessment legislation requiring the organization of public hearings as an affected Party.

At the request of the Committee, I am now writing to you to ask the Government of Ukraine to provide clarifications on how Ukraine as affected Party ensures public involvement in the environmental impact assessment procedure under articles 3 (8) and 4 (2) of the Convention.

Mr. Alexandr Tarasenko Focal Point for Administrative Matters regarding the Espoo Convention Ministry of Ecology and Natural Resources of Ukraine Kyiv You are kindly invited to provide the requested information through the secretariat by **1 June 2019** to enable the Committee to continue its consideration of the matter at its forty-fifth session (Geneva, 10–13 September 2019).

Yours sincerely,

Romas Svedas

Chair of the Implementation Committee