Distr.: General 31 May 2017

English only

Economic Commission for Europe

Inland Transport Committee

Working Party on Customs Questions affecting Transport

146th session

Geneva, 13-16 June 2017 Item 3 (c) (v) of the provisional agenda Customs Convention on the International Transport of Goods under Cover of TIR Carnets (TIR Convention, 1975) Application of the Convention

Other matters

Transmitted by the Government of Georgia

Introduction

In Annex, the secretariat transmits a letter by the Government of Georgia on the list of customs offices approved for accomplishing TIR operations on the territory of Georgia¹.

¹ The accuracy of the information contained in the letter is the sole responsibility of the Government of Georgia. The mentioning of boundaries, geographic names and related data included in the letter do not necessarily imply official endorsement or acceptance by the United Nations.

ANNEX



№ 49/18393

The Permanent Mission of Georgia to the UN office and other international organizations in Geneva presents its compliments to the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe and in accordance with Article 45 of the Convention on International Transport of Goods under Cover of TIR Carnets (TIR Convention) has the honour to submit the list of the operational Customs Crossing Points (CCPs), Customs Clearance Zones (CCZs) and Service Centers on the territory of Georgia, defined by to the Article 1 of the order N°290 of the Minister of Finance of Georgia, dated July 26, 2012:

"Red Bridge (Tsiteli Khidi)", "Sadakhlo Vehicles", "Sadakhlo Railway", "Gardabani", "Mtkvari", "Akhkerpi", "Guguti", "Lagodekhi", "Samtatskaro", "Kazbegi", "Vale", "Ninotsminda", "Sarpi", "Kutaisi and Senaki Airports and Kutaisi Free Industrial Zone and Kutaisi Hualing Free Industrial Zone", "Tbilisi Airport and Free Industrial Zone of Tbilisi Technological Park", "Batumi Airport", "Batumi Sea Port", "Poti and Kulevi Sea ports and Poti Free Industrial Zone" and "Kartsakhi".

Furthermore, according to paragraph 4 of the above-mentioned Article, any goods which are not prohibited to be imported/exported to/from Georgia, can enter or exit its customs territory through above-mentioned CCPs. These CCPs operate 24 hours a day, are equipped with modern technologies and completed with professional staff. The CCPs "Samtatskaro" and "Akhkerpi" are designed only for pedestrian movement, while CCPs "Mtkvari" and "Guguti" - for pedestrian and small vehicle movements only. Due to incapability of servicing heavy vehicles, the CCPs "Samtatskaro", "Akhkerpi", "Mtkvari" and "Guguti" lack the ability to accomplish the TIR Procedures.

United Nations Economic Commission for Europe

Geneva

In addition to the CCPs, there are Customs Clearance Zones (CCZs), Free Industrial Zones (FIZs) and Regional Centers of the LEPL Revenue Service of the Ministry of Finance of Georgia, where the Customs clearance procedures can be accomplished as well:

- 1. CCZ "Tbilisi";
- 2. CCZ "Tbilisi 2";
- 3. CCZ "Batumi";
- 4. CCZ "Poti";
- 5. CCZ "Airport";
- 6. Telavi Regional Center of the LEPL Revenue Service;
- 7. Akhaltsikhe Regional Center of the LEPL Revenue Service;
- 8. Kutaisi Regional Center of the LEPL Revenue Service;
- 9. Rustavi Regional Center of the LEPL Revenue Service.

The Law of Georgia on Occupied Territories clearly prohibits railway and international overland traffic in the occupied Georgian regions of Abkhazia and Tskhinvali Region/South Ossetia. As a result all customs related procedures at "Gantiadi-Adler" and "Roki-Nizhniy Zaramag" CCPs and all TIR related operations throughout these Georgian regions are temporarily suspended.

The Permanent Mission of Georgia kindly requests the UNECE to disseminate this information and the request of Georgia to its member states to avoid by all means the use of these territories of Georgia, as well as "Gantiadi-Adler" and "Roki-Nizhniy Zaramag" CCPs for any TIR operations.

The Permanent Mission of Georgia to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva avails itself of this opportunity to renew to the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe the assurances of its highest consideration.

18 May 2017, Geneva

