ECE/TRANS/2013/6



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 14 December 2012

Original: English

Economic Commission for Europe

Inland Transport Committee

Seventy-fifth session
Geneva, 26–28 February 2013
Item 4 (b) of the provisional agenda
Issues that need consideration and require decisions by the Committee:
Road transport

Implementation of the digital tachograph

Note by the secretariat

- 1. In the European Union (EU), mandatory use of the digital tachograph is based on Council Regulation (EC) n°2135/98 (that amended Council Regulation (EC) n°3821/85 and Council Directive n°88/599/EEC). Commission Regulation (EC) n°1360/2002 had introduced technical requirements for the digital tachograph and tachograph cards. Existing (registered) vehicles are not retrofitted with digital tachographs. In other words, this Regulation only applies to vehicles applying for registration for the first time.
- 2. The introduction of the digital tachograph device, which monitors the driving and rest periods of professional drivers engaged in international transport under the European Agreement Concerning the Work of Crews of Vehicles Engaged in International Road Transport (AETR) and relevant EU Regulations, became mandatory for EU member States in June 2006. It was to have become mandatory for non-EU AETR Contracting Parties on 16 June 2010 (i.e. after a four-year transition period). In spite of efforts made towards implementing the digital tachograph, by the June 2010 deadline, some non-EU AETR Contracting Parties appeared not be ready to fully implement it by the deadline.
- 3. This "unpreparedness" was the subject of an extraordinary session of UNECE's Working Party on Road Transport (SC.1) (22–23 April 2010, Geneva) where the Contracting Parties to the AETR reached agreement on a six-month tolerance period for the implementation of the digital tachograph at the pan-European level. The "tolerance package" of April 2010 defined the conditions to be adhered to by the drivers of vehicles registered in countries that may fail to observe the deadline in order to be allowed to enter the territory of complying States without being subject to fines or denial of entry. The "tolerance package" ended on 31 December 2010.
- 4. In 2012, further progress had been made in implementing the digital tachograph in non-EU AETR Contracting Parties. Virtually all countries had fully implemented the measures necessary for the use of the digital tachograph. Only one country remains at the

beginning of the process while one country has yet to commence it. The following table shows implementation progress:

Implementation status¹

(As of 07.12.2012)

Country	Authority Identified	Policy for Review	Policy Approved	Start of European Root Certification Authority (ERCA) Services	Card Issuing
Albania	X	X	X	X	*
Andorra	X	X	X	X	*
Armenia	X	X	X	X	X
Azerbaijan	X	X	X	X	X
Belarus	X	X	X	X	X
Bosnia- Herzegovina	X	X	X	X	X
Croatia	X	X	X	X	X
Georgia+	X				
Iceland	X	X	X	X	X
Kazakhstan	X	X	X	X	X
Liechtenstein	X	X	X	X	X
Monaco	X	X	X	X	*
Montenegro	X	X	X	X	**
Republic of Moldova	X	X	X	X	X
Russian Federation	X	X	X	X	X
Serbia	X	X	X	X	X
Switzerland	X	X	X	X	X
Tajikistan+	X				
the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia	X	X	X	X	X
Turkey	X	X	X	X	X
Ukraine	X	X	X	X	X
Uzbekistan	X				

Source: UNECE Transport Division and Joint Research Centre, European Root Certification Authority, European Commission based on information provided by the national authorities.

Note: No information has been received from Turkmenistan.

¹ Legend: X - denotes "done"

* - Services provided by France** - Services provided by Slovenia

+ - Country acceded to the AETR Agreement in 2011

2